State Bar of Georgia
State Bar of Georgia

2021 State Bar of Georgia Board of Governors Candidate Information

Listed below are the members of the State Bar of Georgia Board of Governors whose terms will expire in June 2021. The highlighted circuits/posts listed below are positions for which no petition was received by the published deadline from the incumbent or the race is contested. If you are interested in running for any of the posts listed below, please download the election packet. The deadline for receipt of nominating petitions for non-incumbents is Friday, Feb. 19, 2021, at 11:59 p.m.



Non-incumbent petition received

Alapaha Circuit, Post 1

Larry Michael Johnson, Nashville
(incumbent not running)

Daniel Jackson Connell III, Adel

Alcovy Circuit, Post 1

Michael G. Geoffroy, Covington


Appalachian Circuit

Will H. Pickett Jr., Jasper


Atlanta Circuit, Post 1

Nicole Christine Leet, Atlanta


Atlanta Circuit, Post 3

Lisa K. Liang, Atlanta


Atlanta Circuit, Post 5

Catherine Koura, Atlanta


Atlanta Circuit, Post 7

William M. Ragland Jr., Atlanta


Atlanta Circuit, Post 9

Keith Elliott Gammage, Atlanta


Atlanta Circuit, Post 11

Jill Pryor, Atlanta


Atlanta Circuit, Post 13

R. Gary Spencer, Atlanta


Atlanta Circuit, Post 15

Letitia A. McDonald, Atlanta


Atlanta Circuit, Post 17

JaDawnya C. Baker, Atlanta

Douglas Randall “Doug” Balyeat, Atlanta

Atlanta Circuit, Post 19

Zahra S. Karinshak, Atlanta


Atlanta Circuit, Post 21

Patricia Anne Gorham, Atlanta


Atlanta Circuit, Post 23

Donna G. Barwick, Atlanta


Atlanta Circuit, Post 25

Amanda Rourk Clark Palmer, Atlanta


Atlanta Circuit, Post 27

Nancy Jean Whaley, Atlanta


Atlanta Circuit, Post 29

Tina Shadix Roddenbery, Atlanta


Atlanta Circuit, Post 30

Shiriki Cavitt Jones, Atlanta


Atlanta Circuit, Post 32

Seth David Kirschenbaum, Atlanta


Atlanta Circuit, Post 34

Allegra J. Lawrence, Atlanta


Atlanta Circuit, Post 36

Graham Elliott McDonald, Atlanta


Atlanta Circuit, Post 39

Anita Wallace Thomas, Atlanta


Atlantic Circuit, Post 2

Hugh J. McCullough, Glennville


Augusta Circuit, Post 1

Sam G. Nicholson, Augusta
(incumbent not running)

Amanda Nichole Heath, Augusta

John C. Bell Jr., Augusta

Augusta Circuit, Post 3

Thomas Reuben Burnside III, Augusta


Blue Ridge Circuit, Post 2

Eric Alvin Ballinger, Canton


Brunswick Circuit, Post 1

James L. Roberts IV, Saint Simons Island
(incumbent not running)

Theresa Davis Beaton, Saint Simons Island

Stephen Elliott Tillman, Baxley

Chattahoochee Circuit, Post 2

Brandon Lee Peak, Columbus


Chattahoochee Circuit, Post 4

Donna Stanaland Hix, Columbus


Cherokee Circuit, Post 2

John Thomas Mroczko, Cartersville


Clayton Circuit, Post 1

Kathryn Lauranne Powers, Jonesboro


Clayton Circuit, Post 3

Martin L. Cowen III, Jonesboro


Cobb Circuit, Post 2

Ronald Arthur Lowry, Marietta


Cobb Circuit, Post 4

Patrick H. Head, Marietta


Cobb Circuit, Post 6

Laura Joan Murphree, Marietta


Conasauga Circuit, Post 2

Robert Harris Smalley III, Dalton


Cordele Circuit

James W. Hurt, Cordele


Coweta Circuit, Post 2

Jason W. Swindle Sr., Carrollton


Dougherty Circuit, Post 2

William Flemming Underwood III, Albany


Dublin Circuit

Joseph Carl Sumner Jr., Dublin


Eastern Circuit, Post 2

Lester B. Johnson III, Savannah


Eastern Circuit, Post 4

John Bell Manly, Savannah


Flint Circuit, Post 1

Gregory A. Futch, Jackson
(incumbent not running)

Amanda Renee Flora, McDonough

Matthew Maurice McCord, McDonough

Darius T. Pattillo, McDonough

Griffin Circuit, Post 2

Christopher Charles Edwards, Fayetteville


Gwinnett Circuit, Post 1

David S. Lipscomb, Lawrenceville


Gwinnett Circuit, Post 3

Wesley Charles “Chuck” Ross, Lawrenceville


Lookout Mountain Circuit, Post 2

Douglas Ray Woodruff, Ringgold


Macon Circuit, Post 1

John Flanders Kennedy, Macon


Macon Circuit, Post 3

Ivy Neal Cadle, Macon
(incumbent not running)

Rebecca Holmes Liles Grist, Macon

Middle Circuit, Post 2

Thomas Alexander Peterson IV, Vidalia
(incumbent not running)

Jerry Neal Cadle, Swainsboro

Mountain Circuit

James T. Irvin, Toccoa


Northeastern Circuit, Post 2

Nicki Noel Vaughan, Gainesville


Northern Circuit, Post 1

Walter James Gordon Sr., Hartwell
(incumbent not running)

Kimberly W. Higginbotham, Hartwell

Ocmulgee Circuit, Post 2

Ashley Mackin Brodie, Gray


Oconee Circuit, Post 2

Stephanie Diane Burton, Hawkinsville


Ogeechee Circuit, Post 2

Susan Warren Cox, Statesboro


Out-of-State, Post 1

Philip Augustine, Lake Mary, Fla.

Michael Franklin Braun, Nashville, Tenn.

Scott R. McMillen, Winter Park, Fla.

Pataula Circuit

Edward R. Collier, Dawson


Piedmont Circuit

Barry E. King, Hoschton


Rome Circuit, Post 1

Christopher Paul Twyman, Rome


South Georgia Circuit, Post 2

Tabitha Edwina Payne, Whigham


Southern Circuit, Post 2

Robert Allen Plumb Jr., Valdosta


Southwestern Circuit

R. Rucker Smith, Americus


Stone Mountain Circuit, Post 2

William Dixon James, Decatur


Stone Mountain Circuit, Post 4

Donna Coleman Stribling, Decatur


Stone Mountain Circuit, Post 6

Claudia Susan Saari, Decatur


Stone Mountain Circuit, Post 8

R. Javoyne Hicks, Decatur


Stone Mountain Circuit, Post 10

Dax Eric Lopez, Decatur


Tallapoosa Circuit, Post 1

Michael Douglas McRae, Cedartown


Toombs Circuit

Dennis C. Sanders, Thomson
(incumbent not running)

Thomas B. “Britt” Hammond, Warrenton

Towaliga Circuit

Curtis Stephen Jenkins, Forsyth


Waycross Circuit, Post 2

C. Deen Strickland, Waycross


Western Circuit, Post 1

Lawton E. Stephens, Athens