State Bar of Georgia
State Bar of Georgia

Chief Justice Thomas O. Marshall Professionalism Awards | Call for Nominations

The Bench and Bar Committee invites you to nominate one lawyer and one judge who have demonstrated the highest professional conduct and paramount reputation for professionalism for its 22nd Annual Chief Justice Thomas O. Marshall Professionalism Awards. You may nominate one lawyer and one judge candidate, but you must use a separate form for each nomination. A letter of recommendation outlining the candidate’s background must also accompany the form.

Nominations submitted last year and the previous year will also be considered, and we have those materials on file. If you submitted a nomination within the last two years and wish to add any additional supporting materials to it you may do so.

Download Nomination Form

The past presidents of the State Bar of Georgia will choose the two award recipients at the 2023 Midyear Meeting in January, and the recipients will be presented their awards at the Annual Meeting in June.

Please note that the deadline for submitting nominations is Friday, Dec. 2, 2022.

Past award recipients:
Hon. John D. Allen
Hon. Robert Benham
Hon. George H. Carley
Hon. E. Purnell Davis
Hon. Philip F. Etheridge
Hon. Norman Fletcher
Hon. Ronald H. Ginsberg
Hon. John E. Girardeau
Hon. P. Harris Hines
Hon. Carol W. Hunstein
Hon. Steve C. Jones
Hon. George H. Kreeger
Hon H. Arthur McLane
Hon. Charles Mikell Jr.
Hon. Harold L. Murphy
Hon. Herbert E. Phipps
Hon. Toby Prodgers
Hon. Leah Ward Sears
Hon. Lamar W. Sizemore Jr.
Hon. Lawton Stephens
Jeffrey O. Bramlett
Manley F. Brown
Thomas C. Chambers III
George “Buddy” Darden III
Richard H. Deane Jr.
John A. Dickerson
Benjamin F. Easterlin IV
A. James Elliott
Steven Gottlieb
Hardy Gregory Jr.
Lester B. Johnson III
Linda Klein
Hugh B. McNatt
E. Wycliffe Orr
Paul W. Painter Jr.
Patrick J. Rice
J. Douglas Stewart
Edward E. Tolley
Christopher A. Townley
N. Harvey Weitz
Robert G. Wellon