News & Publications

2017 Board of Governors Election Information

Listed below are the members of the State Bar of Georgia Board of Governors whose terms will expire in June 2017. The highlighted circuits/posts listed below are positions for which no petition was received by the published deadline from the incumbent or the race is contested. If you are interested in running for any of the posts listed below, please download the pdf version of the election packet. The deadline for receipt of nominating petitions for non-incumbents is Feb. 24, 2017, at 11:59 p.m.



Non-incumbent petition received

Alapaha Circuit, Post 1

Carson Dane Perkins, Nashville
(incumbent not running)

Larry Michael Johnson, Nashville

Justin Daniel Studstill, Lakeland

Alcovy Circuit, Post 1

William Gregory Pope, Covington

Appalachian Circuit

Will H. Pickett Jr., Jasper

Atlanta Circuit, Post 1

Diane E. Bessen, Atlanta

Atlanta Circuit, Post 3

Kathleen M. Womack, Atlanta

Atlanta Circuit, Post 5

Catherine Koura, Atlanta

Atlanta Circuit, Post 7

William M. Ragland Jr., Atlanta

Atlanta Circuit, Post 9

Damon Erik Elmore, Atlanta

Atlanta Circuit, Post 11

Jill Pryor, Atlanta

Atlanta Circuit, Post 13

R. Gary Spencer, Atlanta


Atlanta Circuit, Post 15

Letitia A. McDonald, Atlanta

Atlanta Circuit, Post 17

JaDawnya Cintelle Butler, Atlanta

Atlanta Circuit, Post 19

Elizabeth Louise Fite, Atlanta

Atlanta Circuit, Post 21

Patricia Anne Gorham, Atlanta

Atlanta Circuit, Post 23

Donna G. Barwick, Atlanta

Atlanta Circuit, Post 25

Phyllis J. Holmen, Atlanta

Atlanta Circuit, Post 27

Nancy Jean Whaley, Atlanta

Atlanta Circuit, Post 29

Tina Shadix Roddenbery, Atlanta

Atlanta Circuit, Post 30

Karlise Yvette Grier, Atlanta

Atlanta Circuit, Post 32

Seth David Kirschenbaum, Atlanta

Atlanta Circuit, Post 34

Allegra J. Lawrence, Atlanta

Atlanta Circuit, Post 36

J. Marcus "Marc" Edward Howard, Atlanta

Atlanta Circuit, Post 39

Anita Wallace Thomas, Atlanta

Atlantic Circuit, Post 2

Carl Robert Varnedoe, Hinesville

Augusta Circuit, Post 1

Sam G. Nicholson, Augusta

Augusta Circuit, Post 3

Thomas Reuben Burnside III, Augusta

Blue Ridge Circuit, Post 2

Eric Alvin Ballinger, Canton

Brunswick Circuit, Post 1

J. Alvin Leaphart, Jesup

Chattahoochee Circuit, Post 2

William C. Rumer, Columbus

Chattahoochee Circuit, Post 4

Donna Stanaland Hix, Columbus

Cherokee Circuit, Post 2

Thomas Neal Brunt, Cartersville
(incumbent not running)

John Thomas Mroczko, Cartersville

Clayton Circuit, Post 1

Fred A. Zimmerman, Jonesboro
(incumbent not running)

H. Emily George, Forest Park

Clayton Circuit, Post 3

Martin L. Cowen III, Jonesboro

Cobb Circuit, Post 2

Ronald Arthur Lowry, Marietta

Cobb Circuit, Post 4

Patrick H. Head, Marietta

Cobb Circuit, Post 6

Laura Joan Murphree, Marietta

Conasauga Circuit, Post 2

Robert Harris Smalley III, Dalton

Cordele Circuit

James W. Hurt, Cordele

Coweta Circuit, Post 2

Sandra Nadeau Wisenbaker, Newnan
(incumbent not running)

Amy Beth Godfrey, Newnan

Jason W. Swindle, Carrollton

Dougherty Circuit, Post 2

Thomas V. Duck III, Albany

Dublin Circuit

Joseph Carl Sumner Jr., Dublin

Eastern Circuit, Post 2

Lester B. Johnson III, Savannah

Eastern Circuit, Post 4

John Bell Manly, Savannah


Flint Circuit, Post 1

Gregory A. Futch, McDonough

Griffin Circuit, Post 2

Roy B. Huff Jr., Peachtree City

Gwinnett Circuit, Post 1

David S. Lipscomb, Lawrenceville

Gwinnett Circuit, Post 3

Robert V. Rodatus, Lawrenceville

Lookout Mountain Circuit, Post 2

Douglas Ray Woodruff, Ringgold

Macon Circuit, Post 1

John Flanders Kennedy, Macon

Macon Circuit, Post 3

John Christopher "Chris" Clark, Macon
(incumbent not running)

Ivy Neal Cadle, Macon

Middle Circuit, Post 2

John Alexander "Tripp" Fitzner III, Swainsboro
(incumbent not running)

Thomas Alexander "Tom" Peterson IV, Vidalia

Mountain Circuit

James T. Irvin, Toccoa

Northeastern Circuit, Post 2

Nicki Noel Vaughan, Gainesville

Northern Circuit, Post 1

Walter James Gordon Sr., Hartwell

Ocmulgee Circuit, Post 2

Wilson B. Mitcham Jr., Gray

Oconee Circuit, Post 2

Stephanie Diane Burton, Eastman

Ogeechee Circuit, Post 2

Susan Warren Cox, Statesboro

Out-of-State, Post 1

Jeb Tolliver Branham, Jacksonville Beach, Fla.
(incumbent not running)

Stephanie Kirijan Cooper, Birmingham, Ala.

Tracy Ann Myers, Leesburg, Va.

Pataula Circuit

Edward R. Collier, Dawson

Piedmont Circuit

Barry E. King, Jefferson

Rome Circuit, Post 1

Paul T. Carroll III, Rome
(incumbent not running)

Wesley Jordan Knight, Rome

Christopher Paul Twyman, Rome

South Georgia Circuit, Post 2

Joshua Clark Bell, Whigham

Southern Circuit, Post 2

Laverne Lewis Gaskins, Valdosta

Robert Allen Plumb Jr., Valdosta

Southwestern Circuit

R. Rucker Smith, Americus

Stone Mountain Circuit, Post 2

William Dixon James, Decatur

Stone Mountain Circuit, Post 4

Gary S. Freed, Atlanta

Stone Mountain Circuit, Post 6

Claudia Susan Saari, Decatur

Stone Mountain Circuit, Post 8

R. Javoyne Hicks, Stone Mountain

Stone Mountain Circuit, Post 10

Dax Eric Lopez, Decatur

Tallapoosa Circuit, Post 1

Michael Douglas McRae, Cedartown

Toombs Circuit

Dennis C. Sanders, Thomson

Towaliga Circuit

Curtis Stephen Jenkins, Forsyth

Waycross Circuit, Post 2

C. Deen Strickland, Waycross

Western Circuit, Post 1

Lawton E. Stephens, Athens